Skip to main content

After a Disaster, the Money Arrives in a Fixed Order

Last updated September 2026

Federal disaster money arrives in a fixed order, and knowing it answers most of the questions people waste weeks on. Insurance pays first, so FEMA covers only what your policy did not — which is why a well-insured household often receives little, and why that is not a mistake to appeal. FEMA runs two separate ceilings of $43,600 rather than one grant. The money that rebuilds a house is an SBA loan of up to $500,000, and the rate depends on a test most applicants have never heard of. Two windows close about 60 days after the declaration, so apply before your insurance settles, not after.

By Abiot Y. Derbie, PhD · Every figure linked to the body that publishes it: FEMA, SBA, the IRS, the Department of Labor and NAIC · Updated September 2026 · 30+ min read
Methodology

Short answer

FEMA is not an insurer and was never built to make you whole. It runs two separate accounts with separate ceilings — $43,600 for housing assistance and $43,600 for other needs, for disasters declared on or after 1 October 2024 — and it pays only what insurance did not (Federal Register). The money that actually rebuilds a house is an SBA loan of up to $500,000, and the rate you are offered turns on whether you could borrow elsewhere. Two clocks matter more than anything else here: roughly 60 days to apply to FEMA from the declaration, and roughly 60 days to apply to SBA for physical damage. Apply to both before your insurance settles.

1. The deadlines that cost the most

Almost every avoidable loss after a disaster comes from a clock rather than a decision. Three of them run at once, from three different start dates, and missing any one closes a door that is hard to reopen.

FEMA: about 60 days from the declaration. FEMA’s standard registration period is 60 days from the date of the declaration. A Regional Administrator may extend it by up to 60 more, further extensions need the Individual Assistance Division Director, and late applications are separately accepted for an additional 60 days with an explanation (FEMA IAPPG). Register at DisasterAssistance.gov or 1-800-621-3362.

SBA: about 60 days for physical damage, nine months for economic injury. These intervals are not in the regulation. 13 CFR part 123 says only that each declaration notice will identify the deadline (eCFR), and SBA sets the dates per declaration. In practice they are consistent: the Indiana declaration of 25 August 2026 set a physical damage deadline of 25 October 2026 and an economic injury deadline of 25 May 2027 (Federal Register). Late filing is accepted only where SBA finds substantial causes beyond the applicant’s control.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance: 30 days from the DUA announcement. Note the start date. It runs from the public announcement that DUA is available, not from the declaration, and those are different dates (US Department of Labor).

The most common expensive mistake is waiting for the insurance adjuster before applying anywhere else. SBA’s own position is that survivors need not wait for a settlement to apply; insurance proceeds are deducted from the eligible loan amount later, and a loan can be reduced or cancelled if insurance covers more than expected. Waiting produces the one outcome nobody can undo for you: a closed filing window.

2. The order the money arrives in, which is not the order you apply in

Federal disaster assistance runs on a sequence of delivery set in regulation, and it explains most of what otherwise looks arbitrary. The order is: voluntary agency emergency assistance and insurance first; then FEMA Housing Assistance; then FEMA Other Needs Assistance; then SBA and USDA disaster loans; then additional voluntary agency assistance; then the Cora Brown Fund (44 CFR 206.191).

Two consequences follow. Because insurance sits ahead of FEMA, FEMA cannot duplicate what your policy pays: it covers uninsured and underinsured losses, which is why a well-insured household often receives little or nothing, and why that is not an error to appeal. And contrary to the framing you will see almost everywhere, SBA sits after FEMA in the sequence, not before it. You do not have to be turned down for an SBA loan before FEMA will help you.

Apply to everything early and in parallel. The sequence governs who pays for what, not who you talk to first.

3. What FEMA actually pays

The most persistent error about FEMA is that there is a single maximum grant. There are two, and they are separate accounts with separate ceilings. For disasters declared on or after 1 October 2024 the maximum is $43,600 for Housing Assistance and $43,600 for Other Needs Assistance (Federal Register). The figure of $42,500, still widely repeated, was the ceiling for disasters declared on or after 1 October 2023 — and even then it was never one combined cap.

Several categories sit outside those ceilings altogether: Rental Assistance, Lodging Expense Reimbursement, Direct Housing, and repair or replacement of specific accessibility-related items (FEMA). Everything else counts against one of the two caps, including Serious Needs Assistance, currently a $770 one-time payment (Federal Register).

FEMA assistanceCounts against a cap?Limit
Home repair and replacementYes — Housing Assistance$43,600
Personal property, moving, medical, dental, funeral, child careYes — Other Needs$43,600
Serious Needs AssistanceYes — Other Needs$770
Rental Assistance and Lodging Expense ReimbursementNoUp to 18 months
Direct HousingNoUp to 18 months
Accessibility-related repair or replacementNoCase by case

Continued Temporary Housing Assistance runs up to 18 months from the date the disaster was declared — not from the date you applied or were first paid, which shortens it in practice for anyone who registers late (FEMA, 44 CFR 206.110).

On averages, and on fraud, be careful what you believe. FEMA publishes no average award. Its OpenFEMA registrations dataset holds per-registration amounts and carries an explicit warning that it is not intended to be an official federal report, so any average you see is somebody’s calculation rather than FEMA’s statistic. FEMA likewise publishes no figure for how much fraud rises after a disaster; its disaster fraud page warns about scams in entirely qualitative terms. Percentages attributed to FEMA on that point — 300%, 400% — appear in no FEMA publication.

4. Your policy, and the two things it almost certainly excludes

Insurance is first in the sequence, so what it covers determines everything downstream. A standard homeowners policy does not cover flood and does not cover earthquake, which is sold as a separate policy or endorsement (NAIC). Sewer and drain backup is the third gap and the one that surprises people most: the regulator’s own wording is that most homeowners policies offer limited or no coverage for it by default.

Three policy terms decide the size of your cheque. Replacement cost pays what it costs to rebuild. Actual cash value deducts depreciation first, which on an older roof is the difference between a repair and a partial one. Extended replacement cost adds a margin above the dwelling limit for the case where rebuilding costs more than the policy assumed: the industry body describes it as paying 20 percent or more depending on the insurer (Insurance Information Institute), and NAIC’s reporting treats policies above 125% of the dwelling limit as a category of their own. Read your declarations page for which of the three you actually bought; the answer is often not the one the household assumed.

If the insurer is slow, the deadlines are set by your state and they differ enormously. Florida gives an insurer 60 days from notice of claim to pay or deny (Fla. Stat. 627.70131). Texas allows 15 business days to decide, extendable by 45, then five business days to pay once it has accepted (Texas Department of Insurance). California allows 40 days to accept or deny and 30 more to tender payment. There is no national rule here, and the decision clock and the payment clock are usually separate — look up your own state’s.

5. The deductible that is not a dollar amount

In hurricane and earthquake regions the deductible is often a percentage of the dwelling limit rather than a fixed sum, and the range is far wider than most summaries admit. NAIC puts hurricane deductibles at 1% to as high as 15% of insured value, and reports that nineteen states and the District of Columbia have some form of hurricane or named-storm deductible (NAIC). Earthquake deductibles run higher: the California Earthquake Authority offers 5%, 10%, 15%, 20% and 25% (California Department of Insurance).

The arithmetic is worth doing before you need it. On a $400,000 dwelling limit a 2% hurricane deductible is $8,000 and a 10% earthquake deductible is $40,000, against the $1,000 or $2,500 flat deductible the same household is used to. Note the trigger too: a hurricane deductible applies only to a storm categorised as such by the National Weather Service or the National Hurricane Center, while a named storm deductible also reaches tropical storms and cyclones.

6. Flood is a separate policy, and it has a waiting period

National Flood Insurance Program limits for a residential property are $250,000 for the building and $100,000 for contents; non-residential is $500,000 and $500,000; renters can buy contents-only cover up to $100,000 (FloodSmart). These are hard ceilings.

A new policy takes effect 30 days after purchase, which is why flood cover cannot be bought as a storm approaches. Four documented exceptions matter: no wait when the purchase is made in connection with making, increasing, extending or renewing a mortgage; no wait when changing coverage at renewal; a one-day wait for a property newly designated as high-risk on a map update; and a one-day wait where a flood is caused or worsened by wildfire on federal land (FloodSmart).

On price, FEMA publishes neither a starting premium nor a national average. Under Risk Rating 2.0 it prices per property and publishes a distribution instead: of single-family policies in force as of 31 August 2023, 37% cost between $0 and $1,000 a year and 32% between $1,000 and $2,000 (FEMA). Any “policies start at” figure is a marketing number rather than a FEMA one. Annual increases are capped for most policyholders at 18%.

7. SBA loans, and the test that decides your rate

The Small Business Administration, not FEMA, is the largest source of federal disaster money for individuals, and despite the name it is not restricted to businesses. Homeowners may borrow up to $500,000 to repair or replace a primary residence; homeowners and renters alike up to $100,000 for personal property; businesses and most private nonprofits up to $2 million. Terms run up to 30 years, the first payment is deferred 12 months, and no interest accrues during those 12 months (SBA).

The rate turns on the credit-elsewhere test, and the caps are not the same for households and businesses. This is where most summaries go wrong, including an earlier version of this page. For businesses, SBA states two caps: 4% for applicants who cannot obtain credit elsewhere and 8% for those who can. For home loans SBA states only the 4% cap for applicants who cannot obtain credit elsewhere, and publishes no 8% figure at all (SBA). The actual homeowner rate is set per declaration, and the spread between the two answers is large.

Category, January 2025 California declarationCredit available elsewhereNo credit elsewhere
Homeowners5.125%2.563%
Businesses8.000%4.000%
Private nonprofits3.625%3.625%

Those are the published rates for the wildfires and straight-line winds declared on 8 January 2025 (Federal Register). A homeowner who could borrow elsewhere paid almost exactly double the rate of one who could not, on the same declaration, so the most valuable thing to establish early is which side of that test you fall on. Rates differ by declaration: look up your own rather than trusting a number quoted from someone else’s disaster.

One under-used provision: SBA will increase a physical damage loan by up to 20% of the verified loss for mitigation — work that makes the property more resistant to the next event. SBA publishes no dollar cap on that increase and does not state that it sits above the programme maximum, so do not plan on exceeding $500,000.

8. Your mortgage, and the forbearance that runs longer than you think

If the loan is federally backed, disaster forbearance is an obligation on the servicer rather than a favour, and it runs far longer than the three to six months usually quoted. FHA caps accumulated arrears at the equivalent of 12 months of principal, interest, taxes and insurance, requires servicers to evaluate borrowers in a declared disaster area for forbearance regardless of the reason for default, and — the part worth knowing — requires the servicer to suspend reporting delinquencies to credit bureaus for a borrower granted disaster relief who is otherwise performing. HUD also imposes an automatic 90-day foreclosure moratorium from the date of declaration (HUD).

Fannie Mae allows servicers to reduce or suspend payments for up to 12 months, authorises a 90-day plan even where the servicer cannot reach the homeowner, waives late fees and suspends credit-bureau reporting of disaster-related delinquency (Fannie Mae). Freddie Mac starts at one to six months, extendable to 12, with the total capped so a borrower never falls more than 12 months behind, and waives late fees (Freddie Mac). Freddie does not state that it suppresses credit reporting, so ask rather than assume. Separately, a servicer can apply a disaster code to your credit report explaining the situation (CFPB).

9. Income and food while you are out

Disaster Unemployment Assistance exists for people regular unemployment insurance does not reach: the self-employed, those who cannot get to work, those whose workplace was damaged, those injured in the disaster, and a new head of household looking for work because the previous one died in it. Benefits run up to 26 weeks from the first week following the date the disaster began, and if the calculated weekly amount falls below half the state average it is raised to half the state average (DOL).

D-SNAP provides one month of food benefits under rules deliberately different from regular SNAP: it uses a disaster gross income limit that adds accessible liquid resources to take-home income and then subtracts unreimbursed disaster expenses, and it applies no separate resource test. Application windows are short, generally about seven days, so this is one to watch for rather than get round to (USDA).

10. The casualty-loss rule that changed for 2026

This is the part of the page most likely to be out of date elsewhere, because the law has moved twice recently. Since 2018 a personal casualty loss has been deductible only if attributable to a federally declared disaster. The One Big Beautiful Bill Act made that permanent and, beginning in 2026, expanded eligible losses to include state-declared disasters, provided the other requirements of Internal Revenue Code section 165 are met (IRS). For the many events that never reach a presidential declaration, that is a deduction which did not exist in 2025.

The arithmetic for an ordinary federal casualty loss: take the loss, subtract insurance and other reimbursements, subtract $100 per event, then subtract 10% of your adjusted gross income from the total. You must itemise (IRS Publication 547).

A narrower category, the qualified disaster loss, is treated far better: a $500 floor instead of $100, no 10%-of-AGI reduction, and deductible without itemising. The catch is the window. It covers major disasters declared between 1 January 2020 and 2 September 2025, with an incident period beginning on or after 28 December 2019, on or before 4 July 2025, and ending no later than 3 August 2025 (Instructions for Form 4684). A disaster declared after 2 September 2025 does not qualify, so for anything since, the $100 and 10%-of-AGI rules apply and you must itemise. Pages describing the generous version as the current rule are describing a window that has closed.

One election is worth knowing regardless: a federally declared disaster loss may be claimed on the preceding year’s return, which can put the refund in your hands a year earlier. The election must be made no later than six months after the regular due date, without extensions, for the disaster year’s return.

11. Public adjusters, and a number with no source behind it

A public adjuster works for you rather than the insurer and is paid a share of the settlement. Some states cap that share and many do not. Florida caps it at 20%, falling to 10% for claims in the year after a declared emergency (Fla. Stat. 626.854); Texas caps it at 10% (TDI); New York at 12.5% (NY DFS). Maryland and Illinois state plainly that the fee is negotiable and not set by law. Check your own state before signing anything.

The claim that public adjusters raise payouts by 30–50% has no source. It is worth being specific, because the figure is everywhere. The only substantial study is a 2010 report by Florida’s OPPAGA covering claims filed in 2008 and 2009 at Citizens Property Insurance Corporation, a single state-run insurer. Its findings were not 30–50%: represented claims from the 2005 hurricanes settled at $17,187 against $2,029, non-catastrophe claims at $9,379 against $1,391, and 2004 hurricane claims at $22,266 against $18,659 — roughly 19% at one end and several hundred per cent at the other. The report also records that the figures are gross of the adjuster’s own fee and that represented claims took longer to settle, and it controls for nothing: larger and more complex claims are exactly the ones that attract a public adjuster in the first place (OPPAGA Report 10-06). A public adjuster may well be worth hiring. That number is not the reason.

On contractors the defensible advice is procedural rather than numerical: get the licence number and verify it with the state board, get more than one written estimate, never pay in full up front, and check whether your state caps the deposit, because several do. Be wary of anyone who appears unsolicited, wants cash, or presses you to sign before your adjuster has been.

12. The mistakes that cost the most

Waiting for the insurance settlement before applying to FEMA or SBA. The filing windows close on their own schedule and are the one thing nobody can recover for you.

Expecting a FEMA grant on a well-insured loss. Insurance comes first in the sequence; FEMA covers the gap, not the loss.

Treating an SBA decision as a precondition for FEMA help. SBA sits after FEMA in the sequence of delivery, not before it, so an application to one is never a gate on the other.

Reading the dwelling limit without checking whether the deductible is a percentage. A 10% earthquake deductible on a $400,000 limit is $40,000.

Buying flood cover when the forecast turns. Thirty days, with only four narrow exceptions.

Declining an SBA loan over a rate quoted from someone else’s declaration. Rates are set per declaration and differ sharply by the credit-elsewhere test.

Treating the generous casualty-loss rules as current. They closed for disasters declared after 2 September 2025.

Counting the 30-day DUA window from the declaration rather than from the DUA announcement.

13. Go deeper: the decision behind each section

Each of the decisions above has a page of its own, because the arithmetic differs by household. Start with the disaster-recovery decision engine to work through insurance, FEMA and SBA in the order this page describes. The emergency-fund guide covers what to hold liquid when the reimbursement cycle runs months rather than weeks, and the credit-score playbook covers the forbearance-and-reporting interaction in section 8. When repairs are done and the question becomes what to rebuild rather than how, rebuilding finances after a life event picks up there. The decision tools run the numbers for your own case.

14. Common questions

Does FEMA pay for damage my insurance already covered? No. Insurance precedes FEMA in the sequence of delivery, and FEMA assistance may not duplicate it (44 CFR 206.191).

Is the maximum FEMA grant $42,500? No. That was the ceiling for disasters declared on or after 1 October 2023. For declarations on or after 1 October 2024 it is $43,600 — and it is two separate ceilings, one for housing and one for other needs, not one combined figure.

How long can FEMA pay for somewhere to live? Up to 18 months from the date of the declaration, extendable in extraordinary circumstances.

Do I repay an SBA disaster loan if my insurance pays out later? Insurance proceeds are deducted from the eligible loan amount, and a loan can be reduced or cancelled. That is exactly why SBA advises applying without waiting for the settlement.

Can I deduct my loss if the governor declared a disaster but the President did not? Beginning in 2026, yes — state-declared disasters are within scope, provided the other section 165 requirements are met (IRS).

How many billion-dollar disasters were there last year? There is no current answer. NOAA retired the Billion-Dollar Weather and Climate Disasters product effective 8 May 2025, with no updates beyond calendar year 2024; the 1980–2024 record remains archived (NOAA NESDIS). Any post-2024 count attributed to that series did not come from it.

Sources

Every figure links to the body that publishes it. Where a number is set per declaration, as SBA rates and deadlines are, this page gives a dated example and says so rather than presenting one declaration’s rate as a national figure. Where no figure is published — FEMA average awards, FEMA fraud rates, NFIP starting premiums — this page says so instead of supplying one.

AD
Sources: FEMA, SBA, NFIP, NAIC, IRS, DOL, USDA, HUD. Updated September 2026.

After a Disaster, the Money Arrives in a Fixed Order: everything in one place

2 pages cover this. The one you are reading is marked, so you can see what the others do differently.

Start here

  • After a Disaster, the Money Arrives in a Fixed Order you are here

Plan your financial reset

The Recovery Path creates a personalized recovery roadmap for every life event.

Build My PathAll Guides